Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Who’s Doing What: von Briesen & Roper opens new offices; AWL names new board members


Who’s Doing What: von Briesen & Roper opens new offices; AWL names new board members


Listen to this article

Jurowski named to Building Trades United Pension Trust Fund

The Associated General Contractors of Greater Milwaukee has announced that Nathan Jurowski has been appointed to the Building Trades United Pension Trust Fund by the AGC Board of Directors.

Jurowski serves as AGC’s general counsel and heads its Union Labor Relations Division. He is a State Bar certified attorney with more than seven years of experience practicing law in Wisconsin.

Reinhart named a benefits, compensation recommended firm

Reinhart Boerner Van Deuren has been named as a recommended firm for Employee Benefits and Executive Compensation in the 2016 Legal 500 USA.

Now in its 10th year, the Legal 500 USA publication is relied on by millions of buyers of legal services worldwide when they need to instruct outside counsel.

WHD practices earn Chambers honors

Whyte Hirschboeck Dudek’s Banking and Finance, Corporate/M&A, Intellectual Property, and Real Estate practices have been ranked among the best in Wisconsin by Chambers and Partners. Chambers publishes the Chambers USA guide, used by businesses and other organizations in determining the best possible legal representation.

Additionally, Corporate/M&A attorneys John Emanuel, Eric Lenzen and Richard Silverthorn; Intellectual Property attorney Gina Carter; Natural Resources & Environment attorneys Jennifer Drury Buzecky and Donald Gallo; Real Estate attorneys Brad Dallet, Nathaniel Hoffman and Hal Karas; and Health Care attorney Patrick Coffey each earned individual recognition in the Chambers USA guide, based on their reputations among clients and peers.

Vanderboom joins Hawkins Law Office

Mike Vanderboom
Mike Vanderboom

Milwaukee-based Hawkins Law Office has added Mike Vanderboom to its team.

Vanderboom has experience in the food and hospitality industry and is joining the firm to help restaurant/bar owners and farmers throughout the state with their specific industry needs.

He is a 2014 graduate of the University of Wisconsin-Madison Law School.

von Briesen & Roper announces promotions; opens new offices

von Briesen & Roper has promoted attorneys Christine Hamiel, Patrick Henneger, William Jackson and Thomas Moniz to shareholders of the firm.

The firm also announced that it has opened offices in Appleton and Green Bay and added attorneys Frank Kowalkowski, Benjamin LaFrombois and William Woodward as shareholders of the firm. LaFrombois will practice out of the downtown Appleton location. Kowalkowski and Woodward will practice out of the downtown Green Bay location.

In March, von Briesen opened an Oshkosh office with six attorneys: James Macy, Robert Mathers, Steven Sorenson, William Fischer, Thomas Moniz and Courtney Hollander.

Schroeder Group hires Ruszkiewicz

Mark Ruszkiewicz
Mark Ruszkiewicz

The Schroeder Group has added attorney Mark Ruszkiewicz to its team.

Ruszkiewicz focuses his practice on business and real estate transactions. Prior to joining the firm, he worked for the Wisconsin Department of Transportation, where he focused on real estate, acquisition/condemnation, land use, and litigation surrounding those areas.

Reinhart’s Herbers, Rusch named 5-star attorneys

John Herbers
John Herbers
Wendy Rusch
Wendy Rusch

Reinhart Boerner Van Deuren Trusts and Estates Shareholders John Herbers and Wendy Rusch have been named 2016 Five Star Estate Planning Attorneys by Five Star Professional.

Candidates were evaluated against 10 criteria to determine the Five Star Estate Planning Attorneys in more than 40 major markets.

CH Coakley acquires StorX, Telestar

Milwaukee-based CH Coakley, a business solutions provider of third-party logistics, commercial moving, warehousing, order fulfillment and document management, has announced the recent acquisition of two Wisconsin companies: StorX Inc., a New Berlin-based warehousing and trucking group, and Telestar, a Waterford company that provides installation, expansion and support for the top telecommunication firms.

The transition for both companies was complete on Aug. 1.

Dizard joins National Association of Federal Equity Receivers

O’Neil, Cannon, Hollman, DeJong & Laing’s Seth Dizard has joined the National Association of Federal Equity Receivers as an associate member.  NAFER’s mission is to provide a forum for federal equity receivers to consult with one another regarding the legal and practical issues they face in order to develop best practices and common solutions.

As the head of the firm’s Banking and Creditors’ Rights Practice Group, Dizard regularly serves as a court-appointed receiver throughout Wisconsin for businesses, construction projects, real estate developments, marital and family estates, rental income properties, and high net worth individuals.

Hupy’s Perlberg selected to Top 100 Lawyers list

Thomas Perlberg
Thomas Perlberg

Hupy and Abraham attorney Thomas Perlberg has been selected to join the National Trial Lawyers: Top 100 Lawyer list. The Trial Lawyers Top 100 is an invitation-only organization composed of exemplary trial lawyers who meet a strict number of qualifications, exhibit extraordinary trial results and display leadership. Selection into the organization requires a multiple-stage process and grants access to an elite group of litigators.

Perlberg joins Michael Hupy, Jason Abraham, Brandon Derry, Robert Domol, Todd Korb, Chad Kreblin, Timothy Schelwat and Thomas Kyle, who are also members of the Top 100 Trial Lawyers.

Krukowski joins Mallery & Zimmerman

Tom Krukowski
Tom Krukowski

Mallery & Zimmerman has announced that Tom Krukowski has joined the firm as a shareholder in the Milwaukee office.

His practice focuses on employment and labor matters involving discrimination, harassment, retaliation, family and medical leave and disability issues.

AWL names new board members

The Association for Women Lawyers has announced its new Board of Directors. Members, who took office July 1, will serve for one year. They are:

President: Malinda Eskra, Reinhart, Boerner, Van Deuren;

President-Elect: Shannon Braun, Godfrey & Kahn;

Secretary: Hon. Rebecca Dallet, Milwaukee County Circuit Court;

Treasurer: Kelly Noyes, von Briesen & Roper;

Past President: Caroline Spongberg, Northwestern Mutual;

Director of Membership: Jennifer Hong, U.S. District Court, Eastern District of Wisconsin;

Director of Professionalism: Patricia Jenness, Michael Best & Friedrich;

Director of Programs: Renee Nawrocki, Diane S. Diel; and

Director of Special Events: Shauna Manion, Nistler Law Office.

Ogletree Deakins attorneys make best lawyers list

Four attorneys from the Milwaukee office of Ogletree, Deakins, Nash, Smoak & Stewart have been listed in The Best Lawyers in America 2017.

Bernard Bobber, David Loeffler, Eric Hobbs and Kevin Kinney were the local attorneys to make the list, as overall 195 Ogletree Deakins attorneys were listed in The Best Lawyers in America 2017.


What kind of stories do you want to read more of?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Legal News

See All Legal News

WLJ People

Sea all WLJ People

Opinion Digests