Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Home / Legal News / Who’s Doing What: Attorneys named to Best Lawyers list; Schoen earns Pro Bono award

Who’s Doing What: Attorneys named to Best Lawyers list; Schoen earns Pro Bono award

WHD has 49 attorneys named to Best Lawyers list

Whyte Hirschboeck Dudek S.C. had 49 of its lawyers selected by their peers for inclusion in this year’s The Best Lawyers in America.

In addition, WHD’s Ross Anderson, Richard Lewandowski and Philip Miller received special recognition from Best Lawyers.

Anderson: was named the Construction Lawyer of the Year for Milwaukee litigation, Lewandowski was named Environmental Lawyer of the Year for Madison litigation, and Miller was named Trusts and Estates Lawyer of the Year for the Milwaukee market.

• WHD also recently announced the addition of Leslie Gutierrez to its Litigation Practice Group; the addition of Heather Downs Russell, Robin Lehninger and Maximiliano Silvestre to its Corporate and Finance Practice Group; Angela Harden and Margaret Heitkamp to its Litigation Practice Group; and Laura Ferrari to its Human Resources Law Practice Group.

Peterson, Johnson and Murray earns Tier 1 ranking

Peterson, Johnson and Murray SC has again earned a Tier 1 Ranking in the 2016 Edition of Best Law Firms by U.S. News & World Report and Best Lawyers.

In addition, nine attorneys in nine different practice areas were selected for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America 2016 list, including Terry Johnson in the category of Bet-the-Company Litigation.

King, Schuster join Goldstein Law Group

Michael King

Michael King

Michael King

Julia Schuster

Michael King and Julia Schuster have joined Goldstein Law Group S.C. as associates focusing on labor and employment law and corporate issues.

Wynn joins Quarles’ Business Law group

Kim Wynn

Kim Wynn

Quarles & Brady LLP has announced that commercial finance attorney Kim Wynn has joined the firm’s Milwaukee office as a partner in its Business Law Practice Group.

Wynn structures, negotiates and closes commercial finance transactions, including asset-based loans and other secured loans, representing agents and lenders in transactions throughout the U.S. involving real and personal property collateral.

Schoen earns MBA’s Pro Bono Publico Award

Quarles & Brady LLP has announced that Patrick Schoen, an attorney in the firm’s Commercial Restructuring, Bankruptcy, and Creditors’ Rights Practice Group, has received the Milwaukee Bar Association’s Pro Bono Publico Award in the category of individual attorney.

Schoen received the award for his years of pro bono work conducted on behalf of several Milwaukee-area organizations, including Milwaukee Habitat for Humanity, the Volunteer Lawyer Project at Legal Action of Wisconsin, and the Sojourner Family Peace Center. He has completed more than 920 hours of pro bono service this year.

Quarles & Brady names new section chair roles

Quarles & Brady LLP has created two new section chair roles as the firm begins its new fiscal year. All of the new appointees practice out of the firm’s Milwaukee office.

Jeff Peelen and Daniel Radler have assumed the newly created positions of section chair. In this role, they will serve as an extension of the managing partner, working directly with national practice group chairs and industry team leaders to help strengthen planning, execution, and operational practices of these strategic areas of the firm.

In addition, three partners were named as national chairs of several practice groups. Jack Cook has been named the national chair of the Intellectual Property Practice Group. Elizabeth Orelup has been named the national chair of the Business Law Practice Group. Rebecca Speckhard has been named the national chair of the Public Finance Practice Group.

• In addition, five of the firm’s associate attorneys in the Milwaukee office have been named as partners. The new partners are Daniel Ark, Jonathan Hackbarth, Ryan Lovitz, Patrick Murphy and Valerie Vidal.

Hupy joins COA Youth & Family Centers board

Michael Hupy, president of Hupy and Abraham, has been nominated to serve on the COA Youth & Family Centers’ Board of Directors. Hupy will remain a member of the organization’s Community Development Committee, which promotes programs for positive resident engagement to decrease crime, violence and poverty.

AWL names award-winners

The Association for Women Lawyers Foundation has announced the recipients of its annual awards. This year’s winners are:

Community Involvement Award: Hon. Joan Kessler, Wisconsin Court of Appeals, District 1;

Mentoring Award: Hon. Nancy Joseph, U.S. District Court, Eastern District of Wisconsin;

Pro Bono Award: Hannah Dugan, Law Offices of Hannah C. Dugan

Founders Award: Kristin Bergstrom, Reinhart Boerner Van Deuren

The awards were presented at the AWL Annual Meeting luncheon on Sept. 24 at the Italian Community Center in Milwaukee.

Hupy and Abraham honored for Best Website Reboot

Hupy and Abraham has been honored for Best Website: Reboot at the 2015 Legal Marketing Association Midwest Your Honor Awards.

Hupy and Abraham’s redesigned website debuted in November 2014. The firm strived to simplify the lawyer research process for potential clients, to provide an easily navigable website with a modern flare and to highlight key information for the public.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *