Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Large pool to dip toes into judicial elections

By: Jack Zemlicka, [email protected]//January 4, 2012//

Large pool to dip toes into judicial elections

By: Jack Zemlicka, [email protected]//January 4, 2012//

Listen to this article

Of the 11 contested circuit court elections this year in Wisconsin, eight will feature challenges to incumbent judges.

Several recent judicial appointees face opposition, including Nelson Phillips, Milwaukee County Circuit Court Branch 17 Judge, who was appointed in October by Gov. Scott Walker.

Other Walker appointees who will be facing challenges include Judge Michael Nieskes, Racine County Branch 5.

Some races drew substantial competition, with six candidates vying for the open Branch 7 seat in Rock County and four candidates running against incumbent Judge Jason Rossell for Kenosha County, Branch 2.

Here is a look at the candidates registered with the Government Accountability Board as of Wednesday for the Feb. 21 primary election.

Calumet County Circuit Court

Hon. Jeff Froelich (I)

Wayne Fulleylove-Krause – WFLK Inc., Chilton

Dane County Circuit Court, Branch 11

Hon. Roger Allen (I)

Ellen Berz – Wisconsin State Public Defender’s Office, Madison

Frank Sullivan – Wisconsin Department of Justice, Madison

Kenosha County Circuit Court, Branch 2

Hon. Jason Rossell (I)

Ed Antaramian – City of Kenosha Attorney, Kenosha

David Berman – David R. Berman LLC, Kenosha

David Celebre – Celebre Law Offices, Kenosha

William Michel – Law Office of William P. Michel II, Kenosha

Manitowoc County Circuit Court, Branch 2

Hon. Gary Bendix (I)

Bob Dewane – Attorney, Manitowoc

Menominee-Shawano County Circuit Court, Branch 2

Hon. William Kussel Jr. (I)

Michael Koran – Keshena

John Selsing –Selsing Law Office, Berlin

David Winter – Winter Law Office, Shawano

Milwaukee County Circuit Court, Branch 17

Hon. Nelson Phillips (I)

Christopher Lipscomb – Lipscomb Law Offices, Glendale

Carolina Stark – Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development, Milwaukee

Milwaukee County Circuit Court, Branch 23 (Hon. Elsa Lamelas filed notification of noncandidacy)

Hannah Dugan – Law Offices of Hannah C. Dugan LLC, Milwaukee

Lindsey Grady – Milwaukee County Probate Division, Milwaukee

Oneida County Circuit Court, Branch 2 (Vacant)

Michael Bloom – Oneida County District Attorney, Rhinelander

John O’Melia – O’Melia, Schiek & McEldowney SC, Rhinelander

Tim Vocke  – Vocke ADR, Rhinelander

Portage County Circuit Court, Branch 1 (Vacant)

Tom Eagon – Portage County District Attorney, Stevens Point

Michael McKenna – Portage County Corporation Counsel, Stevens Point

Racine County Circuit Court, Branch 5

Hon. Michael Nieskes (I)

Mike Piontek – Michael J. Piontek Law Office, Racine

Racine County Circuit Court, Branch 10 (Hon. Richard Kreul filed notification of noncandidacy)

Tim Boyle – Boyle Law Office, Burlington

Mark Nielsen – Schwartz, Tofte & Nielsen Ltd, Racine

Rock County Circuit Court, Branch 7 (Hon. James Welker filed notification of noncandidacy)

Tod Daniel – Tod O. Daniel Law Office, Janesville

Mike Haakenson – Haakenson & Haakenson, Janesville

Jack Hoag – Sedor & Hoag SC, Janesville

Barbara McCrory – Jefferson County Family Court Commissioner, Jefferson

Tom McDonald – McDonald Law Office SC, Janesville

Harry O’Leary – O’Leary Law Office, Janesville


Should additional funding and resources be given to the Secret Service?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Legal News

See All Legal News

Case Digests

Sea all WLJ People

Opinion Digests