Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Who’s Doing What: New hires at Ruder Ware, Michael Best and more

By: WISCONSIN LAW JOURNAL STAFF//September 2, 2011//

Who’s Doing What: New hires at Ruder Ware, Michael Best and more

By: WISCONSIN LAW JOURNAL STAFF//September 2, 2011//

Listen to this article

Ruder Ware LLSC

Kevin Terry has joined Ruder Ware LLSC, Wausau. He will serve as a member of the Employment, Benefits & Labor practice group and the Local Government & Municipalities and School Districts & Educational Institutions focus teams.

Terry will provide counsel on all aspects of the employer-employee relationship in matters relating to labor and employment law, and municipal and school law. He earned his law degree from Marquette University Law School.

von Briesen & Roper SC

von Briesen & Roper SC, Milwaukee, announced the formation of its new Strategic Risk and Crisis Management practice section. The section is comprised of such seasoned lawyers as: Jennifer Bolger, Doris Brosnan, John Feldbruegge, Mark Foley, James Korom, Beth Kushner, Steven Nelson, Peter Ramirez, John Rocco, Heidi Vogt, Roy Wagner and Randall Crocker, who will chair the section. The attorneys who make up the team have extensive experience in litigation, bankruptcy, banking, information technology, insurance, reinsurance, government relations and regulations, internal investigations, Occupational Safety and Health Administration inspections and investigation, labor and criminal law. They will guide businesses, banks, hospitals, corporations, school districts and municipalities through environmental, regulatory and workplace crises, internal investigations, data breaches, labor disputes, major litigation, financial failures, toxic tort and product liability matters.

The firm also announced that Diane Welsh, chief legal counsel of the Wisconsin Department of Health Services, will join the firm as a shareholder. Welsh will chair the firm’s newly formed Government Relations and Regulatory Law section. She earned her law degree from the American University Washington College of Law in 1998.

Law Offices of Andrew Mishlove

Attorney Andrew Mishlove of Law Offices of Andrew Mishlove, Glendale, was recently honored with a unanimous appointment as the only Wisconsin DUI (OWI) attorney on the Governing Board of Regents for the National College for DUI Defense, Inc.

The NCDD, a professional, non-profit corporation dedicated to the improvement DUI defense law, offers the only American Bar Association (ABA) accredited Board Certification program for DUI defense. Andrew Mishlove is the only NCDD Board Certified specialist in Wisconsin; one of the best trained and most experienced DUI defense attorneys in the country. He earned his law degree from the University of Wisconsin in 1981.

(Mueller & Jenny pics)

Michael Best & Friedrich LLP

Michael Best & Friedrich LLP, Milwaukee, has added a team of six life sciences attorneys and other professionals to its Chicago office. The group, formerly with the law firm of Polsinelli Shughart in Chicago, is made up of two partners, Lisa Mueller and Paul Jenny; two associates, Todd Hofmeister, Ph.D., and Joseph Pletcher, Ph.D.; a paralegal, Janelle Wiggins; and a legal assistant, Laura Czech.

Mueller is a patent attorney, focusing in the biotechnology, chemical, pharmaceutical, medical and agricultural fields. She earned her law degree from Valparaiso University.

Jenny, also a patent attorney, focuses his practice on life sciences and biotechnology. He earned his law degree at the University of North Carolina.

Hofmeister focuses his intellectual property practice on patent work involving drug discovery and development, specialty polymers and polymeric resins, and molecular biology and genetics-related technologies. He received his law degree from DePaul University.

Pletcher’s patent practice involves prosecution, opinions and client counseling with regard to chemistry, pharmaceuticals and biotechnology-related matters. He received his law degree from Indiana University School of Law.

The Association for Women Lawyers Foundation

The Association for Women Lawyers Foundation has announced the recipients of its annual scholarships. This year’s winners are: Cassandra Steele of Muskego (Marquette University Law School); Lisa Jacobson of Black River Falls (UW-Madison Law School); Susan Barranco of Menomonee Falls (Marquette University Law School) – Virginia A. Pomeroy Scholarship; Kathryn Finley of Wauwatosa (UW-Madison Law School) – Virginia A. Pomeroy Scholarship.

Scholarships have been awarded annually since 1997 to women who are attending a Wisconsin law school and meet criteria that include service to others, academic achievement and unique life experience or circumstance.

The scholarships will be awarded at the AWL annual meeting Sept. 20 at the Italian Community Center in Milwaukee.

(Kamke & Temple pix)

Reinhart Boerner Van Deuren SC

Reinhart Boerner Van Deuren SC, Milwaukee, announced the addition of two attorneys to the firm’s health care and litigation practices.

Timothy Kamke is an attorney in Reinhart’s health care practice. He focuses on health care law and related businesses. He earned his law degree from Marquette University Law School.

Guy Temple is an attorney in the firm’s litigation practice. Temple joins the firm from the United States Air Force JAG Corp. He brings more than four years of practice advising both individual clients and senior military leadership on criminal and civil legal matters affecting the organization and administration of Air Force operations. He earned his law degree from Northwestern University School of Law.


What kind of stories do you want to read more of?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Legal News

See All Legal News

WLJ People

Sea all WLJ People

Opinion Digests