Home / News / Assembly GOP members named to budget committee

Assembly GOP members named to budget committee

MADISON, Wis. (AP) — Two Republicans who have never served on the Legislature’s powerful budget-writing committee have been named to the panel.

Reps. Mark Born, of Beaver Dam, and Mike Rohrkaste, of Neenah, were appointed Thursday to the Joint Finance Committee. Assembly Speaker Robin Vos announced the appointments.

They will join co-chair Rep. John Nygren, of Marinette, and Reps. Amy Loudenbeck, of Clinton, and Mary Czaja (CHIE-ya), of Irma, as Republican Assembly members on the committee.

The Joint Finance Committee will be the center of the action next year in the Legislature as it works to put together the state’s two-year budget. It will work off Gov. Scott Walker’s proposal, which will be introduced in February.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *