Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Home / Legal News / UW Law announces spring Best Brief semi-finalists

UW Law announces spring Best Brief semi-finalists

The University of Wisconsin Law School announced the spring 2022 Best Brief Competition semi-finalists Thursday. The competition is an annual writing event that recognizes the legal writing talent by first-year law students.

Semi-finalists were nominated by Law School faculty for writing the best appellate briefs during the spring semester Legal Research and Writing course. A panel of Wisconsin attorneys will review the selected students’ briefs and determine the finalists. Ultimately, a panel of Law School faculty will select a winner from the finalists. The university expects to announce the winner by October.

This year’s spring semi-finalists are

  • Jessica Biggott
  • Morgan Bloch
  • Lily Broyles
  • Claudia Drace
  • Stephen Goettsche
  • Catherine Harding
  • Taylor Hatridge
  • Jodi Klagos
  • Madeline Koengeter
  • Tracy Lu
  • Carter Mickelson
  • Margaret Min
  • Kyle Minden
  • James Moes
  • Sadie Murray
  • Jill Patzner
  • Hayley Rich
  • Sarah Ross
  • McKailah Strang
  • Diedre Suri
  • Nicholas Surprise
  • Laura Yurs

Past winners include class of 2023’s Jacob Aaron Neeley (2021 winner), class of 2022’s Kyle Clark (2020 winner), Olivia Schwartz of Reinhart Boerner Van Deuren’s Milwaukee office (2019 winner) and Sarah Wertz of  Sidley Austin’s Chicago office (2018 winner).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *