Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Home / Legal News / Midwest attorneys appointed to AG Advisory Committee

Midwest attorneys appointed to AG Advisory Committee

Attorney General Merrick Garland announced Wednesday the appointment of 12 U.S. Attorneys to serve on the Attorney General’s Advisory Committee of U.S. Attorneys (AGAC). Created in 1973, the AGAC advises the Attorney General on matters of policy, procedure, and management impacting the Offices of the U.S. Attorneys and elevates the voices of U.S. Attorneys in Department policies. The first meeting of the AGAC will take place later this spring.

Of the appointees are Illinois attorney Gregory Harris and Michigan attorney Dawn Ison.

Harris, a graduate of University of Illinois Chicago School of Law, started his career practicing for the Office of the State Appellate Defender in 1976. Over his career he’s served in the Illinois Governor’s Office of Manpower and Human Development and the Illinois Department of Commerce and Community Development. After practicing with Giffin, Winning, Cohen & Bodewes, he returned to the Central District of Illinois in 2001, where he served as chief of the Criminal Division and Assistant U.S. Attorney. The Senate confirmed Harris as U.S. Attorney for the Central District of Illinois in December 2021.

Ison, a Wayne State University Law School graduate, was a prehearing attorney for the Michigan Court of Appeals in 1989 and 1990. In 2002, Ison began serving as an Assistant U.S. Attorney in the U.S. Attorney’s Office for the Eastern District of Michigan, where she also served as the chief of Drug Enforcement Task Force Unit. The Senate confirmed Ison as U.S. Attorney for the Eastern District of Michigan in December 2021.

An appointee from a district within the jurisdiction of the Eleventh Circuit of the U.S. Court of Appeals will be announced at a later date, once the Senate has confirmed nominees. A full list of appointees and bios can be found here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *