Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Home / Legal News / VanDeHey elected as Committee of Chief Judges chair

VanDeHey elected as Committee of Chief Judges chair

Grant County Circuit Judge Robert P. VanDeHey

Judge Robert P. VanDeHey

Seventh Judicial Administrative District Chief Judge Robert P. VanDeHey has been elected chairman of the Committee of Chief Judges.

VanDeHey, who presides over cases in Grant County Circuit Court, will serve on the committee starting Aug. 1. He replaces District Eight Chief Judge James Morrison of Marinette County Circuit Court.

VanDeHey was first appointed to the bench in Grant County in 1998 after working as an attorney in private practice. He was appointed as chief judge in 2016 after serving as a deputy chief judge.

VanDeHey has previously served as a member of the Juvenile Jury Instruction Committee, Juvenile Law Institute, Wisconsin Judicial Conference, Wisconsin Judicial Council and chair of the Probate Benchbook Committee. He’s the State Bar of Wisconsin’s 2016 Judge of the Year.

District Seven includes Adams, Buffalo, Clark, Crawford, Grant, Iowa, Jackson, Juneau, La Crosse, Monroe, Pepin, Pierce, Richland, Trempealeau and Vernon counties. As chief judge of the district, VanDeHey oversees administrative matters with the help of a deputy chief judge and district court administrator.

The Committee of Chief Judges meets about seven times a year to work on statewide administrative issues. Each chief judge may serve up to three consecutive two-year terms.

About Michaela Paukner, [email protected]

Michaela Paukner is the legal reporter for the Wisconsin Law Journal. She can be reached at (414) 225-1825 or by email at [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *