Home / Legal News / Cedarburg, Milwaukee attorneys advance to April election

Cedarburg, Milwaukee attorneys advance to April election

A Cedarburg attorney and a Milwaukee attorney vying for a judgeship in Ozaukee County are advancing to the general election on April 2.

The lawyers Steve Cain, Angela Foy, Mark Larson and James Wawrzyn were all on Tuesday’s ballot in Ozaukee County for the race to fill Branch 2 of the Ozaukee County Circuit Court.

Foy, a shareholder at Halling & Cayo in Milwaukee, came out on top with 2,771 votes, claiming 34.1 percent of the total vote, according to unofficial elections results from the Ozaukee County Clerk.

Cain, a partner at Stippich, Selin & Cain in Cedarburg, came in second with 2,727 votes, about 33.6 percent of the total vote.

Foy and Cain pushed out Larson and Wawrzyn. Larson, a shareholder and civil defense attorney at Gutglass, Erickson, Bonville & Larson in Milwaukee, took 1,754 votes, about 21.6 percent of the total vote.

Warwrzyn, a business attorney at Von Briesen in Milwaukee, took 853 votes, about 10.5 percent of the total vote.

The race was the only local primary for a contested state court race and is one of three local contested judicial races on the April 2 ballot. The other two races are in Milwaukee and Racine counties.

At the top of the ticket for all voters around the state will be the race for Justice Shirley Abrahamson’s seat on the Wisconsin Supreme Court. The court of appeals judges Brian Hagedorn and Lisa Neubauer are vying for the spot.

About Erika Strebel, erika.strebel@wislawjournal.com

Erika Strebel is the law beat reporter for the Wisconsin Law Journal and a law school student at UW-Madison. She can be reached at 414-225-1825.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *