Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Home / Legal News / Who’s Doing What: Attorneys recognized as Lawyers of the Year

Who’s Doing What: Attorneys recognized as Lawyers of the Year

Three Davis & Kuelthau attorneys recognized 

Davis & Kuelthau recently announced that three of its attorneys were recognized as Lawyer of the Year by The Best Lawyers in America, a national and local peer-review publication. They are:

  • Kevin Lyons, Milwaukee metro area, arbitration
  • Matthew McClean, Milwaukee metro area, construction law
  • Robert W. Burns, Green Bay metro area, employment law – management

The publication recognizes one lawyer in each practice area in each community as the Lawyer of the Year.

Godfrey & Kahn shareholder joins PR firm’s board of directors

Godfrey & Kahn announced last month that the shareholder Peter Sommerhauser has joined the APCO Worldwide’s board of directors.

APCO is the world’s second largest independently owned public-relations firm in the U.S. The company has been in business for more than 30 years and employees more than 650 employees worldwide.

Sommerhauser’s practice specializes in mergers and acquisitions, leveraged buyouts, business succession and business financing structure. He earned his law degree from the Northwestern University School of Law in 1968.

10 Godfrey & Kahn attorneys recognized in Best Lawyers publication

Godfrey & Kahn announced last month that 10 of its lawyers had been recognized as Lawyer of the Year by Best Lawyers in America, a national and local peer-review publication.

Only one lawyer in each practice area and community is honored as Lawyer of the Year. Godfrey & Kahn attorneys who received the designation are:

  • Jon Anderson, Madison, education law
  • Michael Apfeld, Milwaukee, appellate practice
  • James Friedman, Madison, appellate practice
  • Paul Griepentrog, Milwaukee, mergers and acquisitions law
  • Thomas Homberg, Milwaukee, financial services regulation law
  • Kevin O’Connor, Madison, antitrust litigation
  • Howard Pollack, Milwaukee, securities litigation
  • Thomas Shorter, Madison, health care law
  • Charles Vogel, Milwaukee, health care law
  • Mark Witt, Milwaukee, business organizations

Husch Blackwell elects former Whyte Hirschboeck partner to executive

Husch Blackwell announced that Paul Eberle, former Whyte Hirschboeck Dudek chief executive, has been elected its chief executive for a three-year term.

Eberle’s term as Chief Executive starts Feb. 1, 2018.

Eberle joined Husch Blackwell when the firm merged in 2016 with WHD, where he had been chief executive since 2009. Eberle has since been deputy chief executive at Husch Blackwell. Before assuming executive positions in the legal industry, Eberle was the founder and president of Capital Data Inc., a technology, services and leasing company; was a founding shareholder of LaserNet Inc., a print, mail and electronic-document delivery company; and was an active angel and real estate investor.

Brookfield attorney promoted to shareholder

DeWitt Ross & Stevens announced last month that Christopher Scherer of its Metro Milwaukee office was promoted to shareholder.

Scherer’s practice focuses on domestic and international patent and trademark prosecution. He earned his law degree in 1999 from the John Marshall Law School in Chicago.

14 Wisconsin Foley attorneys recognized as ‘Lawyer of the Year’

Foley announced last month that 25 attorneys were designated “Lawyer of the Year” from Best Lawyers, and 14 of them work in the firm’s Madison and Milwaukee offices.

The Best Lawyers in America is a national, peer-review survey-based publication. This year’s publication designated the following Foley attorneys as “Lawyer of the Year.”

The 14 attorneys recognized by Best Lawyers as a 2018 “Lawyer of the Year” are:

  • Allen Arntsen, Madison, land use and zoning
  • Timothy Crisp, Madison, banking and finance litigation
  • Gregg Dooge, Milwaukee , employee benefits (ERISA) law
  • Carl Fortner, Milwaukee, tax law
  • Edward Hammond, Milwaukee, commercial finance law
  • Emory Ireland, Milwaukee, corporate law
  • Benjamin Levin, Milwaukee – real estate law
  • James McKeown, Milwaukee, antitrust litigation
  • James Peterson, Milwaukee, leveraged buyouts and private equity law
  • David Reicher, Milwaukee, securitization and structured finance law
  • Nancy Sennett, Milwaukee, mergers and acquisitions litigation
  • Trevor Will, Milwaukee, mass tort litigation and class action defense
  • John Wilson, Milwaukee, corporate governance law
  • Andrew Wronski, Milwaukee, banking and finance litigation

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *