Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Home / Legal News / Board of Governors to choose new committee members, chairperson

Board of Governors to choose new committee members, chairperson

The state Board of Governors will be taking various steps at its next meeting to fill several internal positions, including selecting a new chairperson, choosing new representatives to the American Bar Association House of delegates and voting on who will be on its executive committee in the new fiscal year.

The board will meet at 1 p.m. Wednesday at Glacier Canyon Lodge in Wisconsin Dells.

The governors will be selecting the bar’s representatives to the ABA House of Delegates, one of whom will be a representative of young lawyers. The attorneys Jim Casey of American University in Washington, D.C., and Laura Skilton Verhoff of Stafford Rosenbaum in Madison are candidates for the State Bar delegate position.

Milwaukee attorneys Elise Libbey of the Eastern District of Wisconsin and Emily Stedman of Quarles & Brady are candidates for the young-lawyer position. The candidates will speak briefly before the board votes. An approval will require a simple majority vote.

The Board of Governors will also be choosing a new executive committee. Continuing governors and governors-elect may serve on that panel.

Even as the Board of Governors chooses new representatives, its own rules require that certain people serve. They are: the bar’s president, president-elect, immediate past president, chairperson of the board and one representative from each of the bar’s divisions.

The board will also be voting on appointments to a separate audit committee. The current executive committee has recommended David Gorwitz of Neider & Boucher in Madison and Robert Zellers, who is treasurer of the Wisconsin Trust Account Foundation and a former senior vice president, senior portfolio manager at U.S. Bank’s Private Client Reserve.

Also at Wednesday’s meeting, the Board of Governors will choose a replacement for Governor Chris Rogers, who was recently elected to be the next bar president. District 9 governors will recommend someone to fill Roger’s seat representing the district. Whoever is appointed will have a term lasting from July 1 to June 30, 2018, and will be allowed to run for two full terms in addition to completing the remaining year of Rogers’ term.

The board will also be choosing a new chairperson and voting on a public-policy position to support the establishment of an independent board for prosecutors. The state’s budget-writing committee recently voted to create a Prosecutor Board to help the Legislature review proposed laws and help district attorneys prepare their biennial budget requests.

About Erika Strebel, [email protected]

Erika Strebel is the law beat reporter for the Wisconsin Law Journal and a law school student at UW-Madison. She can be reached at 414-225-1825.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *