Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Home / Legal News / Habush attorney to be bar president

Habush attorney to be bar president

Chris Rogers of Habush, Habush & Rottier (Staff photo by Kevin Harnack)

Chris Rogers of Habush, Habush & Rottier (Staff photo by Kevin Harnack)

A Madison personal injury litigator has won the top leadership spot at the State Bar of Wisconsin.

Chris Rogers of Habush, Habush & Rottier in Madison narrowly defeated business litigator Jon Axelrod of Madison-based DeWitt Ross & Stevens. Rogers received 2,521 votes, while Axelrod garnered 2,423, the State Bar announced Friday.

Starting July 1, Rogers will serve one year as president-elect, then he will have a one-year term as president of the bar.

In other races, John Danner of Harrold Scrobell & Danner, Minocqua, will continue as treasurer for the next two years. Danner beat out Dan Rinzel of Redmon, Peyton & Braswell, Mount Vernon, Va., for the spot with 3,810 votes to 748.

William Gleisner of Milwaukee-based Pitman, Kalkoff, Sicula & Dentice will continue as the bar’s representative on the Judicial Council. Gleisner edged out solo practitioner Andrew Chevrez of Milwaukee with 2,471 votes. Chevrez got 2,156 votes.

The following attorneys were elected to serve two-year terms on the board of governors starting July 1:

District 1

Steven Harvey of Wassel, Harvey & Schuk LLP, Delavan

District 2

Kori Ashley of Legal Action of Wisconsin Inc., Milwaukee

Daniel Blinka of Godfrey & Kahn, Milwaukee

Gregg Herman of Loeb & Herman, Milwaukee

Lisa Lawless of Husch Blackwell, Milwaukee

Odalo Ohiku of Milwaukee

Amy Wochos of the Milwaukee County Clerk of Courts

Nicholas Zales of Zales Law Office, Milwaukee

District 3

Peg Lautenschlager of Lautenschlager Law Office, Fond du Lac

District 5

Craig Steger of Hale, Skemp, Hanson, Skemp & Sleik, La Crosse

District 6

Daniel Fay of Oakton Avenue Law Offices, Pewaukee

District 7

Bradley Yanke of Anderson, O’Brien, Bertz, Skrenes & Golla, Stevens Point

District 9

Truscenialyn Brooks of Perkins Coie, Madison

Sam Wayne of Madison

Katie York of the State Public Defender’s Office, Madison

District 11

Howard Bichler of Cumberland

District 13

Adam Gerol of the Ozaukee County District Attorney’s Office, Port Washington

District 15

Kelly Mould of Johnson Bank, Racine

About Erika Strebel, [email protected]

Erika Strebel is the law beat reporter for the Wisconsin Law Journal and a law school student at UW-Madison. She can be reached at 414-225-1825.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *