Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Who’s Doing What: Attorneys earn awards; Hupy wins Litigator Award

By: WISCONSIN LAW JOURNAL STAFF//February 22, 2016//

Who’s Doing What: Attorneys earn awards; Hupy wins Litigator Award

By: WISCONSIN LAW JOURNAL STAFF//February 22, 2016//

Listen to this article

Nelson appointed to American College of Trust and Estate Counsel committee

Randy Nelson
Randy Nelson

Weiss Berzowski’s Randy Nelson was recently appointed to the Business Planning Committee of The American College of Trust and Estate Counsel for 2016-2017.

The American College of Trust and Estate Counsel is a nonprofit association of lawyers and law professors experienced in the preparation of wills and trusts; estate planning; and probate procedure and administration of trusts and estates of decedents, minors and incompetents.

Nelson’s practice includes estate planning, family business planning, advising service corporations and partnerships, tax planning, trust administration and probate. He is also an adjunct professor at Marquette University Law School, where he has been teaching estate planning for more than 20 years.

WHD’s Gardner, Chartre make waves

Whyte Hirschboeck Dudek’s William Gardner has been named leader of the firm’s Commercial Finance Team.

In addition to leading the Commercial Finance Team, he is a member of the Business Restructuring, Creditors’ Rights and Bankruptcy Team.

Gardner received his law degree from Brooklyn Law School.

WHD’s Lydia Chartre has been has been granted membership in the College of Community Association Lawyers, making her one of fewer than 160 attorneys nationwide to be admitted to the organization. Fellows of CCAL are recognized for committing themselves to the high standards of professional and ethical conduct. Chartre joins WHD’s Daniel Miske as the only two Wisconsin members of CCAL.

Chartre is a shareholder practicing in WHD’s Milwaukee and Madison offices, where she co-leads the Condominium & HOA Law Team.

Daniels earns award from Milwaukee Urban League

John Daniels Jr.
John Daniels Jr.

Quarles & Brady Chairman Emeritus John Daniels Jr. received the Time Warner Cable Unity Award at the Milwaukee Urban League’s 56th annual Equal Opportunity Day Luncheon.

Daniels received the unity award in recognition of his years of leadership and advocacy and the positive impact he has made on the Milwaukee community.

Daniels, who was honored last week by the Wisconsin Law Journal as a 2016 Leader in the Law, is a member of Quarles’ Real Estate Practice Group, and is a strategic adviser to many of firm’s largest clients.

Manian earns shareholder spot

Jacob Manian
Jacob Manian

Jacob Manian has been promoted to shareholder with Fox, O’Neill & Shannon.

A 2007 Marquette University graduate, Manian joined the firm in 2012. His practice focuses on civil and criminal litigation.

Hupy’s case selected for Litigator Award

Michael Hupy
Michael Hupy

Hupy and Abraham has received a 2015 Litigator Award, a legal accolade given to less than 1 percent of trial attorneys across the nation.

Hupy and Abraham received the award for outstanding legal representation in the “Dangerous Conditions: Slip and Fall” category.

Spearheaded by firm president Michael Hupy, the selected case was an accident involving an immigrant family from southeast Asia. The firm’s client, Xu Yang, suffered massive brain damage after his mother slipped on ice and fell when he was 8 months old. After more than six years of deliberations, Xu was awarded $22 million over the course of his life. The case qualified for the highest verdict eligibility, which was at least $10 million.

Godfrey & Kahn elects new shareholders

Bryan Cahill
Bryan Cahill
Pamela Krill
Pamela Krill

Bryan Cahill and Pamela Krill are Godfrey & Kahn’s newest shareholders.

Cahill is a shareholder in the firm’s Litigation Practice Group, and Krill is a shareholder in the firm’s Investment Management Practice Group. They both received their degrees from the University of Wisconsin Law School.

Drew recognized by Milwaukee County board 

Attorney William Ryan Drew has been honored by the members of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors for his 30 years of service to the residents of the city of Milwaukee and Milwaukee County.

Drew’s commitment to the residents of Milwaukee County began in 1985 when he recommended the creation of the Research Park and served on the park’s Board of Directors as the personal representative of former County Executive Tom Ament. In 1998, he was appointed as executive director of the Research Park and coordinated the park’s high-tech development on the Milwaukee County-owned land in Wauwatosa.

Drew’s service to the community also includes positions as director of administration for Milwaukee County, commissioner of city development for the city of Milwaukee, treasurer of the Southeastern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission, president of the Milwaukee Common Council, and Milwaukee alderman.

Drew began his Real Estate and Construction practice at the law firm of O’Neil, Cannon, Hollman, DeJong & Laing in 1988.

Reinhart’s Hanson earns pro bono award

David Hanson
David Hanson

Reinhart Boerner Van Deuren shareholder David Hanson has been named the firm’s 2015 Pro Bono Attorney of the Year.

Hanson, a litigation shareholder in Reinhart’s Milwaukee office, accepted an appointment from the U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Wisconsin, volunteering his services to represent a prisoner suing for violations of his civil rights. Hanson was able to obtain a favorable judgment for his client.

Hanson, who leads the firm’s IP Litigation Practice, was also recognized for his other pro bono activities, including frequent volunteer legal work at the Milwaukee Justice Center’s Marquette Volunteer Legal Clinic.


Should Hollywood and Nashville stay out of politics?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Legal News

See All Legal News

WLJ People

Sea all WLJ People

Opinion Digests