Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Home / Legal News / Who’s Doing What: AWL announces Board of Directors; new hires

Who’s Doing What: AWL announces Board of Directors; new hires

AWL announces Board of Directors

The Association for Women Lawyers has announced its new Board of Directors. Members, who took office July 1, will serve for one year. They are:

  • President: Caroline Spongberg, Northwestern Mutual
  • President-Elect: Malinda Eskra, Wisconsin Court of Appeals
  • Secretary: Katie Perhach, Quarles & Brady
  • Treasurer: Shannon Brusda, Godfrey & Kahn
  • Past President: Laura Kwaterski, U.S. Attorney’s Office, Eastern District
  • Director of Membership: Patricia Jenness, Michael Best & Friedrich
  • Director of Professionalism: Linda Grady, The Strategic Financial Alliance
  • Director of Programs: Jennifer Hong, U.S. District Court, Eastern District
  • Director of Special Events: Kelly Noyes, von Briesen & Roper

Fetherston named shareholder at Peterson, Johnson & Murray

Ryan Fetherston

Ryan Fetherston

Peterson, Johnson & Murray has named attorney Ryan Fetherston a shareholder of the firm.

Fetherston has been with the firm for nine years and focuses his practice in civil litigation and workers’ comp.

Hupy and Abraham attorneys named to leading lawyers list

Hupy and Abraham’s Jason Abraham and Todd Korb have been named to M Magazine’s Leading Lawyers list.

Hupy earns award from the MBA


Michael Hupy

Michael Hupy, president of Hupy and Abraham, was recently honored with the Milwaukee Bar Association’s Distinguished Service Award.

The MBA presents the award to a member of the bar whose extraordinary service over the years has helped to support and better the legal profession.

Wachewicz, Coley join Davis & Kuelthau

combined-070815Anthony Wachewicz III has joined Davis & Kuelthau’s Labor and Employment Team as senior counsel and Sherry Coley has joined the firm’s Litigation Team as senior counsel.

Both attorneys are based in the firm’s Green Bay office.

Hobbs earns service award

Michael Best & Friedrich partner Eric Hobbs has been honored by the Pulp and Paper Safety Association with its Distinguished Service Award.

The award is the PPSA’s highest honor for service and recognizes leadership and service within the association.

Laska rejoins Michael Best

Casimir Laska has rejoined Michael Best & Friedrich’s Intellectual Property Practice Group as senior counsel.

Laska is based in the firm’s Waukesha office.

Goodwill names Kalscheur to Board of Directors

Brad Kalscheur

Brad Kalscheur

Goodwill Industries of Southeastern Wisconsin Inc. recently named Brad Kalscheur, partner in the Wealth Planning Services Practice Group at Michael Best & Friedrich, to its Board of Directors.

Kalscheur’s practice includes all areas of estate and business succession planning, as well as the structuring and taxation of partnerships and limited liability companies.

Michael Best partners named leaders in their field

Eighteen partners at Michael Best & Friedrich have been recognized as Leaders in Their Field by Chambers USA.

Additionally, the Labor and Employment Practice was ranked in Band 1 (the highest ranking available) in Wisconsin for the ninth consecutive year.

Michael Best earns high patent ranking

Michael Best & Friedrich has been ranked in the top 20 percent of all law firms for patent practices by Intellectual Property Today magazine in a recent issue of the publication.

The patent list, comprised of 271 law firms from across the U.S., is ranked according to the number of utility patents issued in 2014. Michael Best secured the issuance of 915 total patents for its clients in 2014, including 829 utility patents and 86 design patents.

Murphy joins Ruder Ware

Shaughnessy Murphy

Shaughnessy Murphy

Ruder Ware has announced the addition of Shaughnessy Murphy to its Eau Claire attorney team.

Murphy advises clients on a wide variety of business transactional matters, including the organization of business entities; financing, sale and acquisition transactions; and related matters. He also assists clients who are involved in general business litigation matters.

DeWitt’s IP Group earns inclusion honor

DeWitt Ross & Stevens has announced its inclusion in the 2015 IAM Patent 1000.

DeWitt received its recommendation from IAM Patent 1000 for its depth of expertise, market presence and level of work.

Joseph Miotke and Charles Sara were both honored as leaders in the IP field.

DeWitt’s Frazer honored by the MBA

Douglas Frazer

Douglas Frazer

DeWitt Ross & Stevens’ Douglas Frazer has received the Messenger Award from the Milwaukee Bar Association, which recognized the best article published in the MBA’s Messenger Magazine in 2014.

Frazer’s article, “The Cranberry Brief,” traced the historic roots of Wisconsin’s protective cranberry grower’s law.

WHD’s practice groups earn Chambers recognation

Whyte Hirschboeck Dudek has announced that its Corporate/M&A, Intellectual Property, Litigation (General Commercial), and Real Estate practices have been ranked among the best in Wisconsin by Chambers and Partners.

Additionally, Corporate/M&A attorneys John Emanuel, Eric Lenzen and Richard Silverthorn; Intellectual Property attorney Gina Carter; Natural Resources and Environment attorneys Jennifer Drury Buzecky and Donald Gallo; Real Estate attorneys Brad Dallet, Nathaniel Hoffman and Hal Karas; and Health Care attorney Patrick Coffey each earned individual recognition in the Chambers USA guide.

Steiner rejoins Halling & Cayo

Roberta Steiner

Roberta Steiner

Attorney Roberta Steiner has returned to Milwaukee-based Halling & Cayo.

Steiner practiced at Halling & Cayo for 15 years before starting her own practice at Steiner Law, which she continued for 10 years.

Karch named co-leader of WHD practice group

Paul Karch has joined Andrew Schlidt and Eric Lenzen as co-leaders of Whyte Hirschboeck Dudek’s Corporate and Finance Practice Group.

Karch is a shareholder in WHD’s Madison office where he leads the Agribusiness Team and is a member of the Corporate Transactions, Emerging Companies and Health Care Law teams.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *