Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Home / Legal News / High court reappoints circuit judges

High court reappoints circuit judges

The Wisconsin Supreme Court has reappointed circuit court judges from Fond du Lac, Rock, Buffalo, Buffalo, Pepin and St. Croix counties to serve as chief judges of their judicial districts starting Aug. 1, according to a news release.

Chief Judge Robert Wirtz, from Fond du Lac County Circuit Court, will continue for another two years leading District 4, which includes Calumet, Fond du Lac, Manitowoc, Sheboygan and Winnebago counties.

The court also reappointed Rock County Circuit Court Judge James Daley, of Rock County, who will continue as chief judge for District 5, which includes Dane, Green, Lafayette and Rock counties.

Chief Judge James Duvall of Buffalo and Pepin counties’ combined circuit courts will continue leading District 7, which includes Buffalo, Crawford, Grant, Iowa, Jackson, LaCrosse, Monroe, Pepin, Pierce, Richland, Trempealeau and Vernon counties.

Chief Judge Scott Needham of St. Croix County Circuit Court will serve another term as the leader of District 10, which includes Ashland, Barron, Bayfield, Burnett, Chippewa, Douglas, Dunn, Eau Claire, Polk, Rusk, St. Croix, Sawyer and Washburn counties.

Chief judges, each with the help of a deputy chief judge and court administrator, manage their respective districts’ case flow, supervise staff members and develop budgets.

The chief judges meet as a committee about seven times a year. As needed, the committee forms subcommittees to examine problems facing the trial courts.

Five of the 10 chief judges are elected each year to two-year terms with a maximum of three terms.

About Erika Strebel,

Erika Strebel is the law beat reporter for the Wisconsin Law Journal and a law school student at UW-Madison. She can be reached at 414-225-1825.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *