Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Who’s Doing What


Who’s Doing What


Listen to this article

Sarah Knutson has joined Urban & Taylor SC as an associate trial attorney. Her legal practice will focus exclusively on plaintiff personal injury and employment rights litigation. She is a 2011 graduate of Marquette University Law School.

The Greater Milwaukee Association of Legal Professionals has announced the election and installation of their 2011-12 chapter officers: Joni Jakubowski, The Schroeder Group SC, Attorneys at Law: president; Tamara Michalak, Whyte Hirschboeck Dudek SC: treasurer; Mary Burns, Major League Baseball, Office of the Commissioner: executive secretary; Melody Sanders, Foley & Lardner LLP : membership director; Bernice Tresemer, Cramer Multhauf & Hammes LLP: corresponding secretary; Maureen Gromacki, Northwestern Mutual Life Insurance Company: parliamentarian.

The City of Milwaukee Municipal Court has been chosen as the winner of the Effective Use of Technology category in the Public Policy Forum’s 2011 Salute to Local Government awards program.

The court was selected for its electronic case file and website upgrade projects. The awards were announced during a special event on June 23.

Attorney Rhonda Lanford, a shareholder at Habush Habush & Rottier SC’s ( Madison office and adjunct faculty member at UW-Madison Law School, coached UW-Madison third year law student Peter Maris at Baylor Law School’s National Top Gun Mock Trial Competition, held in Waco, Texas, earlier this month.

The National Top Gun Mock Trial Competition is an invitation-only mock trial tournament where the single best advocates from the nation’s top 18 competitive schools go head-to-head for the honor of Top Gun and a take-home prize of $10,000. Maris placed in the top seven advocates at the competition.

The UW-Madison Law School Mock Trial Team received an invitation to the National Top Gun competition following its Championship at the 2010 AAJ National Trial Invitational Competition; the team was led by Lanford and UW- Madison colleague and State Public Defender Ellen Berz. Maris was chosen to represent his team by the mock trial faculty at the law school.
Lanford received her law degree from UW-Madison in 1996.

Madison area personal injury firm, Atterbury & Kammer announced the addition of Eric Haag to the firm as a partner. Haag, a former partner with Gingras, Cates & Luekbe, will continue to focus his practice on personal injury, insurance bad faith and class action matters. He graduated from the University of Wisconsin Law School in 1996. The firm’s name will change to Atterbury, Kammer & Haag as of July 1, 2011.

The Milwaukee Bar Association Foundation is the inaugural recipient of the National Conference of Bar Foundations/LexisNexis Partnerships for Success Award. The new award honors bar foundation initiatives that make a significant impact in their community on issues for which lawyers are uniquely positioned to lead. The MBA Foundation was selected for its leadership in establishing the Milwaukee Justice Center, a co-operative effort that includes the Milwaukee Bar Association, Milwaukee County and the Marquette University Law School.

The State Bar of Wisconsin recognized over two dozen attorneys, judges, law firms, organizations and law students who have made outstanding contributions to their communities and the justice system on June 9 at celebration in the Wisconsin Dells.

Awards for pro bono, public education and other law-related public services were distributed to the following: Allan R. Koritzinsky received the 2011 Leonard L. Loeb award for a lifetime of exceptional contributions to the legal community. David Harth, a partner at Perkins Coie LLC’s Madison office, received the 2010 Pro Bono Award for an individual attorney. Mary Fons received the 2010 Dan Tuchscherer Outstanding Public Interest Law Attorney Award. Amanda Gennerman and Sarah Mazzie-Briscoe, Gennerman, Mazzie-Briscoe Law Group, received the 2010 Pro Bono Award for an organization or association. Retired Dane County Circuit Court Judge Angela B. Bartell received the State Bar’s Lifetime Jurist Achievement Award. Milwaukee County Circuit Court Judge Carl Ashley, received the Judge of the Year Award. The Hon. Charles Dunn Author Award was presented to Joseph Boucher of Madison and Nathan Dosch of Milwaukee. The Young Lawyers Division Professional Achievement Award was presented to Sam Wayne of Madison.

The Belle Case La Follette Outstanding Service Award went to Susan Hanson of Elm Grove. The State Bar’s Health Law Attorney of the Year Award was awarded to Sarah Coyne of Madison. The Hotline Firm of the Year Award was presented to QBE the Americas. The Nonresident Lawyers Division Founders Award went to Michael Remington. The 2010 Outstanding Public Interest Law Student Award was awarded to Ashley Roth, Marquette University Law School, and Katherine Frigo, University of Wisconsin Law School. The 2010 WisLAP Volunteer of the Year Award went to James Martz of Milwaukee. Susan Collins, Patricia Struck, Nate Cade, Frank Remington, Frederick Kaftan, and Kim Haines received the President’s Award from State Bar President James Boll.


Should additional funding and resources be given to the Secret Service?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Legal News

See All Legal News

Case Digests

Sea all WLJ People

Opinion Digests